Denis Farley

Product description

Title: Denis Farley
Author: Vincent Lavoie
Publisher: Plein Sud
Theme: Artist monographs
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 204
Language: French, English 
Release date: 2018
ISBN: 9782922256772

Summary:

This bilingual and richly illustrated publication brings together the largest collection of works by the photographer to date in a single volume. Photographer of present and Fashionrnity, Denis Farley captures the impact of our technological developments on our environment: telecommunications or storage facilities, desolate and transformed landscapes, relays, cabling and networks. Under documentary appearances, these images are largely appealing to dreams and our imagination.

Author Vincent Lavoie is a teacher, publications director and member of various scientific committees and research groups. Specialist of photojournalism in contemporary art, he has signed some books dedicated to the image. Here he describes the various achievements of photographer Denis Farley, opening to our attention various perspectives on the work. For example, we see how Farley's work shows that a form of "colonization" of architecture and public spaces by technostructures dedicated to communication is at work all around us.

Presented on numerous occasions in Canada, in the United States and Europe, Denis Farley's work is in the largest collections, including those of the Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography in Ottawa.

45.00 $
translation missing: en.products.product.maximum_quantity_error

You may also like  

English
English

291189

Denis Farley

Titre : Denis Farley 
Auteur : Vincent Lavoie 
Éditeur : Plein Sud
Thème : Monographies d'artistes 
Format : Relié  
Pages : 204 
Langue : Français, anglais 
Date de publication : 2018 
ISBN : 9782922256772 

Résumé : 

Cette publication bilingue et richement illustrée réunit la plus grande collection d’oeuvres du photographe réunies à ce jour dans un seul volume. Photographe du présent et de la modernité, Denis Farley capte l’impact de nos développements technologiques sur notre environnement : installations de télécommunications ou de stockage, paysages désolés et transformés, relais, câblages et réseaux. Sous des apparences documentaires, ces images font pourtant largement appel au rêve et à notre imagination.

L’auteur Vincent Lavoie est enseignant, directeur de publications et membre de divers comités et groupes de recherche scientifiques. Spécialiste du photojournalisme en art contemporain, il a signé quelques livres consacrés à l’image. Il décrit ici les diverses réalisations du photographe Denis Farley, ouvrant à notre attention diverses perspectives sur l’oeuvre. On y voit par exemple comment le travail de Farley montre qu’une forme de « colonisation » de l’architecture et des espaces publics par des technostructures dédiées à la communication est à l’oeuvre tout autour de nous.

Présenté à de nombreuses occasions au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe, le travail de Denis Farley se trouve dans les plus grandes collections, notamment celles du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et du Musée canadien de la photographie contemporaine à Ottawa.

Recherche