282842

Postcard - Patrick Beaulieu - The Arcs (detail), 2016

Postcard - Patrick Beaulieu - The Arcs (detail), 2016

Size: 6 x 8.5 inches

Beaulieu, who holds a B.A. in Visual and Media Arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal, was awarded the Integration of Art and Architecture Prize for this installation commissioned for the MMFA’s Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion for Peace. Beaulieu is a multidisciplinary artist with a strong interest in the relationships that exist between human beings and the elusive forces that surround them. The creator of many works of public art, he has exhibited in individual and group shows both in Canada and abroad. Over the past dozen years, his desire for travel and new encounters has been the driving force behind his work. He has travelled throughout the Americas, Europe and Asia in the company of authors, philosophers and landscape architects. These excursions have lead him on far-ranging odysseys that involved, for example, tracking the migration of Monarch butterflies from Canada to Mexico (Vecteur Monarque, 2007) and following the prevailing winds of North America as part of an intercontinental trek (Ventury, 2010). His body of work includes sculptures, videos, installations and site-specific/in socius performances.


Viewers of this work made up of 1111 migratory birds enjoy a contemplative experience. The birds’ airborne choreography is rendered in sparkling coloured metals: blue aluminum for starlings, gilded brass for swallows, and pink copper for geese. It maps out Beaulieu’s quest for the invisible yet very real flights of these species we see around us day to day. The light that rakes across them accentuates the dynamic quality of their migratory acrobatics.

Patrick Beaulieu (né en / born in 1974), Les élans (détail) / The Arcs (detail), 2016.
Cette œuvre a été réalisée dans le cadre de la politique d'intégration des arts à l'architecture du gouvernement du Québec. / This work was created in accordance with the Government of Quebec's policy on the integration of art and architecture.
Photo Swann Bertholin

Search

282842

Carte postale - Patrick Beaulieu - Les élans (détail), 2016

Carte postale - Patrick Beaulieu - Les élans (détail), 2016

Dimensions : 6 x 8,5 pouces

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal et lauréat du Concours d’intégration des arts et à l’architecture pour le Pavillon pour la Paix Michal et Renata Hornstein, Beaulieu est un artiste multidisciplinaire qui s’intéresse aux rapports entre l’être humain et les forces insaisissables qui l’entourent. Auteur de nombreuses œuvres d’art public, il a participé à des expositions personnelles et collectives au Canada et à l’international. Son parcours des douze dernières années est animé par un désir de voyages et de rencontres. Il a sillonné les routes des Amériques, d’Europe et d’Asie en compagnie d’auteurs, de philosophes et d’architectes du paysage. Ces randonnées ont donné lieu à des odyssées transfrontalières qui consistaient, par exemple, à suivre la migration des papillons monarques du Canada au Mexique (Vecteur Monarque, 2007) ou à poursuivre les vents d’Amérique du Nord dans un périple intercontinental (Ventury, 2010). Son corpus se compose de sculptures, de vidéos, d’installations et de performances in situ/in socius.


Composée de 1111 oiseaux migrateurs, l’œuvre propose au visiteur une expérience contemplative. La chorégraphie aérienne des oiseaux s’incarne dans des métaux aux couleurs scintillantes : étourneaux (aluminium bleu), hirondelles (laiton doré) et bernaches (cuivre rosé). Elle illustre la quête de Beaulieu traquant les élans invisibles mais bien réels d’espèces qui nous côtoient au quotidien. L’éclairage rasant accentue le dynamisme de leurs voltiges migratoires.

Patrick Beaulieu (né en / born in 1974), Les élans (détail) / The Arcs (detail), 2016.
Cette œuvre a été réalisée dans le cadre de la politique d'intégration des arts à l'architecture du gouvernement du Québec. / This work was created in accordance with the Government of Quebec's policy on the integration of art and architecture.
Photo Swann Bertholin

Recherche